Medical Questions > Mental Health > Anxiety and Stress Forum

I take amitriptilyne, buspirone, and propanolol ...

User Profile
Hi, I take amitriptilyne, buspirone, and propanolol for anxiety and insomnia. my question is about propanolol. I only take it to help control physical anxiety symptoms ( such as shakiness,flushing etc.) on monday thru friday in the morning before I go to work. I take 40 mg in the morning, and a few times a month if I am going to have a particularly stessful or anxiety inducing day, I will take 80 to 100mg propanolol in 2 split doses. I have been doing this for about 8 months now. My question is will continuing to take propanolol like this be bad for my heart? What concerns me is that I don't take it on the weekends ( not really needed), and I have gotten out of shape and want to start exercising again. I worry that the on/off use of it could be bad for my heart? I also worry that if I start exercising again that it will cause daily and weekly changes in my heart rate that could be dangerous, what do you think?

Did you find this post helpful?
|

User Profile
replied March 20th, 2011
Anxiety and Stress Answer A21050
Hello.