Medical Questions > Mental Health > Depression Forum

I feel really low and don't know myself anymore

User Profile
I'm 18 years old, I'm in my first year at University, lately I've been feeling really tired and I feel like my mind is just shut down, I feel really distant from everyone, I just want to sleep all day, I keep getting suicidal thoughts, I just don't feel real anymore, I'm questioning whether this is real life or a nightmare because I feel like I won't wake from it, It kills me knowing that I may never come out of it, I've kept it in for so long, that I was telling my mum and I just bursted out in tears, I don't know what to do with myself, I find it hard concentrating on this and remembering past events. I've been doing well at University I get top grades in Art, I just can't get motivated, I feel extremely alone, though I see many people around me I feel like I'm the only person in the world. I want to get better, I just don't know how, any adivce would be appreciated. Thanks.
Did you find this post helpful?
First Helper User Profile MyMind202
|

replied April 16th, 2012
Experienced User
hi myMine202, you do sound depressed, and I can understand that. I've been living with bipolar for almost 5 or more years now, and my moods swing uncontrollably. It could be from college, and you mentioned you're having trouble remembering things as well. That is a sign of stress/ anxiety that can come from depression. I have been experiencing the same and am in my fourth semester, but had to drop it due to my bipolar. There is help out there like talking to a counselor, maybe even an t-depressants can help an get you focused again. Your symptoms are real and should be taken seriously evaluated by a professional. You don't have to keep feeling this way,and it can be scary and weird at times. I'm here, too if you ever want to talk. Take care.
|
Users who thank guest31449 for this post: MyMind202 

User Profile
replied April 16th, 2012
Hi Mymind202,