Medical Questions > Mental Health > Depression Forum

I feel like a worthless loser who has pushed everyone away.

I'm going to just be very straightforward and honest here. Let me just start off by saying that I know other peoples problems are worse than mine and I have the utmost respect for their struggles and understand the severity of their issues, I am in no way shape or form disrespecting anyone with my problems but there is an old saying that goes "Everyone is happy in the same way but everyone is stressed for different reasons".

I am 21 going on 22 , I come from a highly educated family from both my mother and fathers side , I have never experienced personal problems with my family and my parents have always looked out for me and that is where the fairytale ends.

My depression goes back a few years , I was a decent student up until the sixth grade then I just got into a phase that eventually would ruin my academic life. Fast forward several years later and here I am , an uneducated worthless loser with no direction in life and no real friends to speak of. I used to be the life of the party but I lost that spark in me once my panic attacks and depression kicked in , I've had a few relationships but those all fizzled out. I used to be top dog , a real fierce competitor in anything i did, I was loud , confident, but its like i woke up one day and a part of me just ceased to exist, a part that is long gone. Anyway i have no social life now , I have lost the ability to make friends or hold a conversation with anyone , My depression is so bad at times that i just walk out of the room from time to time and don't even come back when people are over, I feel like a part of me has died from within , I used to box and contemplated becoming a professional boxer but in time my bones started to become weak and deteriorate due to my mother being bulimic when she was pregnant with me. I was never able to finish my studies and only recently have i applied to get a diploma