Medical Questions > Mental Health > Self Injury Forum

I don't know why I do these things

Or where to start.... I am 23 years old. I have struggled with depression and anxiety for as long as I can remember. When I graduated from highschool, I thought I had moved past that stage in my life and had my depression under wraps... Until I met him. Our relationship was fine until about 2 years in. I moved in with him and his family, moved states away from my own family and those closest to me in order to continue our relationship while he went to college. When I moved in was when things slowly declined.. He would manipulate me, I lost all of my friends because I wasn't able to talk to them, and I couldn't call my family without being monitored. One of my loved ones is Jewish and he would always talk about how he despised her because of it and I couldn't mention her without fear of backlash. He told me he only felt sorry for me and he would accuse me of cheating on him with my co worker and my boss. Then he would cheat on me and threaten suicide if I tried to leave.. Over time I went from being 5'11 and a healthy 150lbs to dropping to 115lbs, feeling useless. I tried to dig myself up and started seeing a therapist again... This came to a hault shortly thereafter when there was a fight. I fought and fought the depression and the ED by myself and brought myself up to 135lbs, which I am proud of... I started fighting back, telling him the manipulation was too much and the yelling and scare tactics had to stop. I begged and pleaded for him to get help. He refused. When we fought he convinced me I was delusional and that everything was in my head. That's when I began punishing myself. In the winter, I would strip naked and open the window, letting myself freeze until I couldn't feel my body. I would claw and bite at my own skin after he yelled at me. Eventually things started getting worse... There were dozens and dozens of knives all over the house, he had collected them... He