Hi everyone.

I've just returned from the hospital with some bad news. I'm 21 years old and they took the measurement of my BP and it was 150/90.

A little about me: I'm a 21 years old, 6' tall, originally from Serbia, moved to the US when I was 18 for college. Most of the year I'm in the US. While I was in Serbia, I was very athletic (did swimming actively and water polo) and was quite "handsome" - I weighted about 185 lbs and I was very muscular. I did swimming from the age of 15 till 18 (when I left for the US), before that I did basketball and football (European).

Fast forward to leaving for the US. The food quality in the US is significantly lower than in Serbia (no offense anyone), and me being a college student, I ate that. I did not however eat at McDonald's etc (except for maybe once in two months...). In 2 years I've gained 40 lbs (!) and my worst was at 225 lbs. At this point I was not concerned with BP at all. Also at this point I'm 19-20 years old.

I moved back to Serbia temporarily and realized that I was fat. I started working on reducing my weight and got it to a more manageable 195 lbs (and still am working on lowering it). An important thing to note is that I did not exercise as much while I was in the US (in Serbia I worked out 3 ours per day, in the US maybe 5-6 hours per week).

I was in the hospital in Serbia doing regular check-ups and they took my BP measurement. It was 140/80. They told me to exercise more, eat less, etc. This was before I moved back to Serbia so I figured all will be fixed when I lose weight.

However now that I've lost weight, a year later it is at 150/90. Doctor has just prescribed me Prilinda and Tensec for the first time. This was today. A few days ago (my dad's girlfriend is a doctor), she took my BP measurements and it was 135/75.