Medical Questions > Conditions and Diseases > Hernia Forum

Hernia & Bulged scrotum - Inguino-scrotal hernia

Hi i am 30/M,6ft 80kgs

I used to have pain in the lower abdomen on the groin due to my work being a police officer i avoided it taking painkillers often,

Of late i have a bulge on the scrotum which decreases(becomes soft) when i lie down and as i continue my physical activity during the day it bulges and there is pain in the groin(right as well),

The bulge in the scrotum almost becomes to the size of an apple and is quite evident, Now i have sharp pain on the right groin and the scrotal bulge is quite uneasy

Could it be hernia? if so can a laproscopy be done? how long do i have to take rest before joining my duty, since i cant stay away from my work for more than 2 weeks and it involves lot of driving

Please inform any professional help will be very much helpful
Did you find this post helpful?
|

User Profile
replied July 5th, 2012
Especially eHealthy
InspectorofPolice,

Yes, it sounds like you have an inguinal hernia, with a loop of bowel traveling down the inguinal canal and into the scrotum.

You should see a general surgeon as soon as you can. The main risk of a hernia is bowel strangulation. If the bowel becomes entrapped and its blood supply is cut off, it can die. This becomes a surgical emergency. So, you want to have it taken care of before this occurs.

Most inguinal hernia repairs now days can be done with the assistance of the laparoscope. That is something to be determined by the surgeon.

Again, contact your physician for an evaluation. But, it does sound like you have an inguinal hernia.