User Profile
i was diagnosed with GERD a few months ago brought on by an allergic reaction to some antibiotics (omnicef)...i have been having problems with chest pains and sometimes tingling in my arm and it radiates into my neck and shoulders and sometimes into my ears...sometimes one side and sometimes both...it sometimes feels hot in my arms and chest..it makes me cough and sometimes it feels like i have a chest cold...it also gives me a headache..i couldn't have imagined that these feelings were coming from my stomach but they are! it usually starts to happen a few hours after i eat...i have been sleeping propped up on the couch for a few months now otherwise it wakes me up in the middle of the night from laying down and the acid coming up...i started taking nexium and it's helped tremendously but if i eat something that is too acidic it acts up again (i can't always tell what has acid in it)...sometimes it lasts a few days and sometimes it only lasts a few hours and then i'll go a few days and nothing happens at all...it has affected my life so much...i am scared to eat cause i don't know what's going to happen...i've lost 15 lbs (which is not always a bad thing) and i am just miserable most of the time....is there anyone that has or has had the same problems or anyone that knows any home remedies or anything that can help??? has anyone had this and it has healed and gone away or do i have to live with this forever?
Did you find this post helpful?
|

User Profile
replied January 19th, 2010
Hi,

Welcome to the ehealthforum and I am glad to help you out. Chest pain can be caused by gastroesophageal reflux disease but for your symptoms I would like to rule out thoracic outlet syndrome, cervical spondolysis and hiatal hernia. For this I would suggest you to consult a physician.