Medical Questions > Mental Health > Bipolar Disorder Forum

feeling numb or desensitized (Page 1)

User Profile
i think this is a good topic. i'm sure many of you feel this way or maybe not Wink i guess we can't have it all...

i do feel desensitized. i'm not happy about it. i feel like i should feel more aggressive and excited about life. i feel pretty darn numb. i'm happy and unhappy but without the whole end of the world crap. maybe my meds aren't right? i'm new to bp meds...
Did you find this post helpful?
|

replied September 2nd, 2008
ever since taking depakote i feel the same way - im very much in a "f it" mood. this is the first time ive taken any BP meds and in some way its really altered my lows and highs - only my "median" is very.....calm and almost submissive. i am not sure if anyone feels like this.
|

replied April 30th, 2011
yes very much do depakote makes me very level with my emotions no highs no lows just existing
|

replied September 3rd, 2008
Experienced User
I don't feel up or down about any thing any more, I have been on Geodone for three years now.. I have been on other medications and they all did the same thing they made me feel numb to emotion.
|

Extremely eHealthy
I think the medication numb you and dull your ability to feel emotions. You feel them but the sensation is dulled. Being over medicated can leave a person feeling little emotion. Perhaps letting your doctor know this will bring about a medication change and you will feel more. So sorry you are having a difficult time.
|

User Profile
Supporter
thanks for sharing everyone. i think i will talk to my doc about it. i can def relate to solamala... i am in "f it" mode, too. the only things that get me going is not wanting to have bipolar and not being able to have a child now. i was infertile.
|

replied September 8th, 2008
puzzld,

That is very sad about not being able to have children.
It must be heartbreaking, since you always expected to have children one day.