I was sort of anorexic for about 8 months, and about 2 months ago I stopped because it was scaring me. I started eating more calorically and working out to gain muscle (but always made sure I was eating more than burned).

My hair is still thinning and I still haven't gotten my period back. How do I know when to stop actively gaining weight and when will my hair start growing back?

Thanks! I just want this to be over...
Did you find this post helpful?
|

User Profile
replied April 13th, 2010
Community Volunteer
I wish I was a doctor and could answer this properly, but I can't....I am just a woman that has known the other side of this coin in life....That being bulimia...If I was to answer your question in my own words I would say when you stop worrying about eating enough...When you enjoy life and eat well...When you are able to take all these thoughts of eating and throw them out the window...When you are able to put yourself on a 2,000 calorie diet or wherever it is a good place to stay a happy weight and your hair will no longer thin...Your period will come back and my dear, it will never be over until you let it be over....Good luck...

Caroline
|

replied April 13th, 2010
Thanks, Caroline. That actually helped me feel a lot better about the recovery process. Smile

I hope that you're doing well after your own struggle, you have very insightful thoughts about these issues and seem like a strong person.

-Katherine
|

User Profile
replied April 14th, 2010
Community Volunteer