Medical Questions > Conditions and Diseases > Skin Forum

Eczema and Hypoglycemia Concomitantly Related?

Hello. This is a personal story concerning about how complex eczema can be.

When I was a teenager, I would occasionally get red, itchy patches on my cheeks in the late winter and spring. At the time my skin problem was minor enough that I could just get away with covering the blotches with concealer and washing it off later, and it would all just disappear in the summer and fall. In college I had only a few episodes of my skin flaring up with these patches.

After I graduated and began my internship, things began to get a lot worse. Suddenly, I found myself having to get up really early and force food down my throat. I was alarmed to find that after eating, my cheeks would completely redden up and down both my cheeks (the blotches never look even), and that I would feel really tired and weak at the same time. With my cheeks covered up, I couldn't really hide the problem with concealer anymore, so I had to just leave it alone. Most of the time, my cheeks would begin to clear up later in the morning, sometimes clearing up completely and sometimes partially. Lunch was another vulnerable time for me. Sometimes when I ate, I would get blood red patches, which was always accompanied by a feeling of extreme tiredness.