Medical Questions > Mental Health > Depression Forum

Destined to be alone/invisible forever

I'm currently a freshman at university and an 18. I feel so invisible here. I remember in high school I had bad depression, but figured that it would be better in college because I would be surrounded by older and more intelligent people. I'm just as miserable here, if not more. I only have like 1 or 2 friends. I thought I would be going on dates and meeting guys, but I'm not even close. I'm still a virgin and have never had a boyfriend. The only person I have ever kissed was when I was like 8. I have been incredible lonely all my life. I'm shy, but have tried putting myself out there. One of my old friends from high school would attract more guys than she could count but would do no more than me. When I go to parties it seems like I'm invisible. My friend tells me I could get guys at parties, but I don't want to attract guys who are only interested in me for a minute because their drunk. I actually want to develop a meaningful relationship. I've been told I'm beautiful, but when it comes to attracting guys, I feel anything but. I try getting one guys attention in one of my lectures, but it seems that he looks at everything but me. It's like I'm a ghost. I'm there but I can never feel or have what others do. I just thought by now I would be closer to meeting people and a potential partner, but it feels as if that will never happen. I feel like this is my time to do that, but I'm missing out. Sometimes I'm convinced that I'm destined to be alone for the rest of my life. I hate looking at horoscopes because when I see the "Love" section, it reminds me that that entire aspect of life doesn't apply to me, probably never will. I have to write lists of reasons not to kill myself.
Did you find this post helpful?
|

replied November 12th, 2012