Dr, I had chlamydia for the past 14years and have taken a lot of antibiotics but no relief. is it possible i can be cured
Did you find this post helpful?
|

replied April 9th, 2014
Extremely eHealthy
I am sorry I am not a doctor; you will need to post in the ask a doctor section and you might be lucky and have a reply from a doctor.

Chlamydia doesn't often have any symptoms other than perhaps an altered discharge until it causes possibly serious complications after a variable time.
To the best of my unqualified knowledge the infection is one of the easiest to treat if it is discovered early but the possible complications are my more difficult to treat and infertility could be the result. This makes routine testing very important if you aren't in an exclusive relationship.

If you are certain it is chlamydia you have and have been treated for numerous times I expect the antibiotics have cleared up the infection but you have quickly been reinfected. It is very important your partner is tested and treated at the same time and sexual activity is suspended for the duration of the treatment.

Taking lots of antibiotics is not a very good idea and it is important to complete the course of treatment fully each time or the infection will develop an immunity.

Antibiotics inevitably kill some of the body's friendly bacteria too so for a time after the treatment resistance to further infection is likely to be reduced.

You haven't given enough information about your sexual and medical history and sexual lifestyle to give an opinion about your question. Your own doctor, the doctor who knows you and your history well really is the best person to answer your question but any treatment you have will be completely wasted if your partner is not tested and treated at the same time. It is particularly important you do not have unprotected sex if you are not in an exclusive relationship and then only after you have both been tested and cleared.

Good luck!
|

User Profile