Medical Questions > Mental Health > Self Injury Forum

Can't stop cutting i hurt the few people i love the most

over the past year and a half, ive been a cutter. i've tried so many times to stop, and i do. but then i get overwhelmed again and i end up in my bathroom, holding a razor to my wrist. i may only be a teenager, but everything bothers me. while other teenagers are free, and careless, i can't stop worrying about everything.

i can't stand my 'dad'. hes a hipaccrite, the one thing i hate the most. he does drugs, he gambles, he drinks. then he screams and yells at me telling me that i'm never good enough. which, being my dad, i have to believe him. i'm an straight A student, 4.0 gpa, 3/5 advanced classes, i run a chess club, i'm in marching band, i'm a mathlete, i taught myself how to play piano and clarinet. i'm just....socially crippled. i don't know how to interact with people my age. they find me difficult to understand.

i don't know what else i can do to make my dad proud of me. all he talks about is how amazing my brother is, my brother isnt even his son. he's my moms son from a different relationship. my dad puts on a show in front of every one, so they can see how kind he is.

a few nights ago, i snapped. i relapsed. i was in the loft, playing my piano. my dad came in, started yelling about how i do my hair. (i tease it) and how i look like a "!**@! peacock" with "knappy, ratty ass hair". i ignored him and kept playing. i always keep a comb by me because i have a habit of combing my bottom layer 10 times on each side. he grabbed my comb, stuck it into my hair, and pulled down. it hurt so bad. ithurts's to even think about it