Medical Questions > Conditions and Diseases > Psoriasis Forum

Can I prevent getting psoriasis all over my body?

User Profile
Hi there, my dad had psoriasis all over the body, I would say 10%. he always thought that it was because his life sucks and he is stressed all the time. Anyway I've been experiencing what I think it is psoriasis in my elbows and I've only used Cortizone to control the itching. Is there a way I could prevent get psoriasis all over my body like my dad? What does help? I'm an engineering student and I'm very chill and easy going and only get a little nervous when tests are coming but nothing more than that so I think this comes from my genes. BTW is winter here (some people say it gets it in the winter)
Thank you for any useful help!

Did you find this post helpful?
|

User Profile
replied February 8th, 2014
Psoriasis Answer A45958
good day!
thank you for asking. Psoriasis is a multi factorial complex , chronic and inflammatory disease of keratinocytes in the epidermis with many types from chronic stationary, plaque, guttate,pustular , inverse, eruptive etc and it is all diagnosed clinically and then one can talk about the odds.
So my advice seek a dermatologist and you can discuss following options with him to see what is best for you.
Topical corticosteroids (eg, triamcinolone acetonide 0.025-0.1% cream, betamethasone 0.025-0.1% cream
Ophthalmic corticosteroids (eg, prednisolone acetate 1% ophthalmic, dexamethasone ophthalmic)
Intramuscular corticosteroids (eg, triamcinolone)
Coal tar 0.5-33%
Keratolytic agents (eg, anthralin)
Vitamin D analogs (eg, calcitriol ointment, calcipotriene, calcipotriene and betamethasone topical ointment)
Topical retinoids (eg, tazarotene aqueous gel and cream 0.05% and 0.1%)
Antimetabolites (eg, methotrexate)
Immunomodulators (eg, tacrolimus topical 0.1%, cyclosporine, alefacept, ustekinumab)
TNF inhibitors (eg, infliximab, etanercept, adalimumab)
Systemic antipsoriatic agent (eg, ustekinumab)
Artificial tears