Medical Questions > Conditions and Diseases > Kidney Conditions Forum

can a renal stone prove a danger to life while i am onboard?

User Profile
I am a merchant navy officer.i undergo a medical test everytime i join a new ship. I was diagnosed with a renal stone 6 months ago.I have 4 mm stone that doesnot feature in a ct scan. But appears in the ultrasound.what this could possibly be?is it stone or is it anything else?do i need to undergo any form of surgery for this?can this thing prove a danger to life while i am onboard?please reply asap.

Did you find this post helpful?
|

User Profile
replied June 6th, 2012
Kidney Conditions Answer A35760
Welcome to E health Forum.

You have not mentioned whether you had any form of symptoms due to the stone, you already have.

Though Renal stones cause severe disturbances of life due to the pain, they are not that serious to affect the alround health. But on the long term, presence of urinary obstruction due to stones in strategic locations can end up damaging the kidneys.

Most kidney stones less than 6 mm in size that is 70-80% of stones can be treated conservatively. If pain, nausea and vomiting, infection can be controlled, most of these stones will pass spontaneously. Adequate hydration is needed while trying to pass a kidney stone.

Because stones form by the crystallization of one or more substances in the urine which exist in high concentrations, increased fluid intake will decrease the chance of stone formation by maintaining a high urinary output and by diluting the urine. There are no strict recommendations with regards to the number of glasses of fluid to drink, however, the goal should be to achieve a urine output of greater than two liters per day. Stones that are less than 5 millimeters in size have a high chance (90%) of passing through the urinary tract spontaneously with hydration being the only therapy.