Medical Questions > Conditions and Diseases > Brain and Head Injuries Forum

Caffeine and Alcohol Sensitivity Post-Concussion

Hey! I originally received my concussion at the end of October by being punched in the head several times (martial arts injury). I still cannot exercise to my fullest extent (I can't run longer than a minute.) or else I get a headache. I'm slowly recovering though.

I've noticed that after one glass of champagne, wine or almost any other alcohol, I get a major headache around my left temple.
I think it is similar to caffeine but I get a headache towards the back of my head for caffeine.

How common is it to develop a sensitivity post concussion to alcohol and caffeine? Will it ever go away or do I need to learn to cope with it? (Caffeine is much harder to give up - I'm a student)
Did you find this post helpful?
|

User Profile
replied January 17th, 2014
Thank you for consulting e health forum. I don't think head injury could make you sensitive to alcohol or caffeine. Caffeine usually does not cause much headache. Even caffeine withdrawal headaches are rather mild and don't last longer than a day or two. Alcohol related strong temporal headaches are almost exclusively a privilege of cluster headaches which may develop after head injuries. If you are a smoker the chance is even higher. Considering you have other symptoms you should have a brain MRI if you did not have it yet. If you want more specifics, request an online consultation on my web site, it is free. By Andre Strizhak

Providing Top Neurology Services in the New York area. Excellence in treating headaches, dizziness, and head pain.
|

replied October 27th, 2017
Alcohol and caffeine post concussion