Medical Questions > Conditions and Diseases > Broken Bones Forum

Broken Tibia/Fibula, Details not picked up in OR

User Profile
Hello, I am new to this and need some advice on my current situation. May be a bit lengthy but please bare with me. On Friday Jan. 4, I broke my tibia and fibula due to sliding on a sheet of ice. When my right foot came in contact with the pavement I pretty much did a faceplant into the ground due to the initial pain. I was taken to the ER and given an Xray, which they determined I broke my tibia in two places and my fibula near the knee. I was released in a support cast and with some pain medication and referred to an orthopedic.
Dealing with the pain all weekend, I was finally able to visit my orthopedic on monday Jan. 7. After reviewing my xrays I was admitted back to the hospital. I had to wait 2 days for some swelling to go down and then on the 3rd day my doctor insisted on doing a closed reduction followed by a fiberglass cast. I was then released on the 10th and scheduled to be seen by my Orthopedic in 2 weeks.
On Jan. 24th, I visited my OP and was shown that my tibia was not only broke in 2 places but 4.
How did you not catch that when I was in the OR??? It was soo clear on the Xray. Unbelievable! My swelling at this point went down significantly leaving me with a loose cast, which I noted, but was sent home without any concern from the doctor. Now Im no genius but I dont believe my cast should be this loose 2 weeks out of the hospital. How was the bone, well I mean bones, supposed to magically grow together straight with a loose cast??