Medical Questions > Mental Health > Sleep Disorders Forum

Body vibrates when sleeping

Hello to all,

As this is my first time posting on this site I would like to begin my topic with saying hello to all!
Long story short my wife and I moved from Europe back to the United States a few months ago due to myself having a job transfer. We just had our first child on the 14th of December as well.
To begin, for the past few weeks I have been getting this unusual sensation when i wake up i feel as the bed is vibrating, not shaking or moving but vibrating. I feel this sometimes when I wake up. It lasts for a few seconds and then it foes away but as it is happening I am checking the objects around me if they have any evidence to show that there may have been an earthquake or if they in fact were shaking too but they do not. I have never felt it at any other time other than when I first wake up. I have thrown all explanations such as living next to a highway, a washing machine or a neighbor out the window as only the bed is shaking.
So, last night, which turned out to be one of the most unusual nights of my life has left me with more questions than answers. Last night I fell asleep on the couch in front of the television. As i am usually reading as well, I have the tenancy to fall asleep with my glasses which leads us to this unusual scenario i left myself and my wife in.
My wife, who came in to the kitchen saw that i fell asleep with my glasses on and as she put in, reached down to take them off and as she did I woke up screaming. I don't remember screaming but i remember waking up beyond any form of fright. I have felt so terrified in my life. It took me around a minute to actually say something. My wife also said she has never seen me so panic stricken ever. The unusual thing is that after that minute of confusion that i went through, i realized that the couch is shaking. When I told my wife, she said she felt it as well.