Medical Questions > Conditions and Diseases > Muscular and Nerve Disorders Forum

Atrophy of Medial Head of the Gastrocnemius

I am 28 years of age and a full-time Fitness Instructor and PT. I have always been very active and taken part in many different sports and activities. I started training for The London Marathon November last year. Training was going fine and in January this year I started to increase the distance in training. I then noticed my calf muscle on my left leg was significantly smaller than the other. I had no pain at all so I presumed I was favouring one side of my body more than the other so I kept running. I went to see a Physio just to get a 2nd opinion and he could find nothing wrong and said to just reduce the number of running sessions from 4 to 3 per week.
On the Marathon Day I got to 18 miles and my right hip flexor became very strained to the point where I was unable to continue. The hip flexor is fine now, but the calf has not returned. It is the Medial Head of the Gastroc that has atrophied. I went to see my GP and was referred to St Georges to the Nurologist. I have had an MRI on my lower back, which displayed a slight bulge on my L5/S1 disc, but nothing that could affect the Calf muscle. I have also had an EMG surface and intra muscular test carried out and all nerves are functioning fine. I am still awaiting an appointment to have an MRI carried out on the calf muscle, but I feel this is all taking a long time.

The injury is getting me down. I have tried calf strengthening exercises and stretching, but nothing has helped. I am limping slightly when I walk and my whole left leg and glute always feels stiff. If anyone has had a similar injury or has any knowledge in this area and could help that would be very much appreciated.

Matt
Did you find this post helpful?
First Helper User Profile Gaelic
|

User Profile
replied October 21st, 2012
Especially eHealthy
matt84uk,

This is very interesting, but very perplexing.