Medical Questions > Mental Health > Anxiety and Stress Forum

Anxiety and Stress vs. Something More Serious.

Well, I have been reading a lot on this forum for a few months, and I have have finally decided to post for some help.

I have some mixed emotions/signs and symptoms going on. It drives me crazy because I am a nurse, so I get stuck in self-diagnosing, trying to fight my mind and all its anxiety, and trying to rationalize everything so I'll calm down, sometimes it helps, but only for a short time. Its definitely a power struggle going on in there, and my anxiety seems to be winning.

I have had an up and down road since about last February. I have had many life changes, mostly sudden. From rekindling an old relationship that I had been trying to get over for some time, to moving to a new town and moving in with each other, (we are great now) taking on a new job that demands a lot from me, and even the loss of a pregnancy.

I have many symptoms, such as brain fog, "memory loss" (I seem to pick and chose what I want to remember such as forgetting where I put something, but I can recall a whole conversation I had earlier that morning) of course anxiety, muscle twitches (seem to only happen when I think about them), difficulty making decisions, I get overwhelmed easily, and so on.. I don't really have a hard time sleeping, but I have noticed that I dream A LOT.

My mind is torn between knowing/BELIEVING that this is anxiety, and trying to diagnose myself with a rare disease. I'm terrified to go to the Dr.. Even as a nurse, KNOWING that these are all symptoms of chronic stress/anxiety, I still manage to scare myself into tears by thinking something is serioulsy wrong with me.