Medical Questions > Relationships > Dating Forum

An Autism-Based Relationship...Good or Bad?

Hi all.

I'm new to this kind of thing and this will be my very first post, so I thought I would start of with a few details about myself...

I am a 'nearly 22 year old' male with Asperger's Syndrome, which is an Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD). My girl, who turned 17 last month, is also on the Autism Spectrum, but has the more 'traditional style Autism', though she doesnt stim at all and can carry on a decent conversation, occasionally repeating things she is interested in. Our 12.5 month anniversary was on June 17th, though the only 'dates' we have had so far have been through 'camp get-togethers', so we are never by ourselves.

I have talked to her mom about perhaps letting us be together for real and allowing us to go on real dates. She said she would think it over. My concern is that she wont let us, even though she knows how both her daughter and myself feel about each other. I dont want to pressure her at all, but am very nervous as to her decision. My parents dont accept my girl at all an are clueless of the fact weve been with each other this long. Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks for reading!
Did you find this post helpful?
|

replied June 19th, 2013
Extremely eHealthy
I know a minuscule amount about any type of autism.

I have a friend who is now struggling to cope with a son who has been diagnosed with a type of autism. He is big enough and strong enough to overpower her and his siblings and sometimes causes lots of damage when he suffers a tantrum. The only help offered by the medics is tranquillisers.