I am a 20 year old female and have been having some problems recently. A couple of weeks ago I began to experience really bad urethral pain. I had urgency and frequency when voiding and assumed it was a UTI ( I am a student nurse) I went to the doctor and he confirmed it as a UTI as there was leukocytes in my urine as well as the symptoms, he also added hat I had renal tenderness and said that it might also be a kidney infection and therefore put me on Ciprofloxacin and Tramadol. The pain went away with the painkillers and everything seemed to be ok. A couple of days after I finished the full course of antibiotics the pain came back again in the same region.. I went back to the doctor and the urinalysis was clear he therefore gave me Buscopan for the spasm. In the next couple of weeks I started to get flank pain. Not severe enough to be kidney stones I didn't do much about it and it went away a couple of hours later.

Today whilst on placement in the hospital I started to feel tired and unwell and carried out another Urinalysis on myself, the results were as following.

Trace/+ protein
Moderate/++ blood (specs of colour as opposed to a uniform colour)
SG 1.030
pH 5/6
Billirubin trace

The urine itself was quite cloudy and had stringy particles in it. I am not on my period and am not due one for
another week and it was definitely a urine sample and nothing else. I feel slightly more lethargic and dizzy at times. I was considering going to my doctor and asking for a U&E and and FBC but was wondering if these results are normal and with my history could it be something other than a UTI, a kidney problem of sorts? Again I am student nurse and know some basic things like the fact that there shouldn't be blood in my urine.
Did you find this post helpful?
|

User Profile
replied March 25th, 2014
hi there
microscopic hematuria can occur after a pyelonephritis sometimes it may take a year.

i would like to run some tests:
urinalysis
urine culture
renal function tests