User Profile
Hello everyone! Well this is my first time being out in the open like this with my depression and it's pretty hard to tell my close friends about the pain and sadness that I feel sometimes so I guess this is my first step to being open with others. Here goes...

Well, I'm 18 years old and have just been diagnosed with depression even though I have felt depressed for along time. I finally reached my breaking point a few months ago. Maybe I should back up a bit.
Right now I am a senior in high school but 2 years ago I was accepted into this prestigious early-entry into college program where I was going to spend my last 2 years of high school at a 4 year university getting high school and college credit at the same time.
The first year of that program was great but then the second year was when all things went wrong. I took a college engineering physics class and did terribly. When I say that I got a D, it shocks a lot of people to think that that would break me as much as it did. And I guess that you just have to know me and know the high expectaions that I have for myself. I just felt like I was letting so many people down - my parents, myself, the director of the program, the friends I made in that program (who I felt where sooo much smarter than I was) and I just felt like a fraud and that I didn't deserve anything. So the stress of my parents finding out my grades and being so disappointed in me lead to me running away.
I took several greyhound buses to albuqerque, NM. I didn't know anybody or have any ties to that city but I just wanted to get away from anyplace where people might know me as a failure. Luckily I came to my senses and went back home, where I have been safe and sound for about 2 months. But life just seems so dull and not worth it to me anymore. I had a pretty normal childhood, I was a happy little girl but things have just changed.