Medical Questions > Mental Health > Anxiety and Stress Forum

What causes a burning sensation in the head/scalp?

Must Read
Learn how doctors clinically diagnose one of twelve kinds of anxiety disorders...and which doctors you should see for an anxiety diagnosis....
Anxiety disorders can affect anyone. But do you know the common signs and symptoms of anxiety disorders? Learn more now....
Anxiety is a normal, healthy emotion when experienced during specific moments. But do you know the signs that anxiety has gotten out of control? Read more here...
I am new to this so please forgive me if I have this in the wrong section.
A few days ago, before I fell asleep, I felt this warm sensation in my head, like if someone poured a warm liquid on a spot in my head, and then felt it radiate, not down my neck or anything, just in one spot on my head. it wasnt painful or anything, just strange, and then i proceeded to pace around my house for most of the night. around 1am i went to my mothers room and just layed with her and asked her about it, just so i can get some comfort. she says it's happened to her before, and its not a big deal. even with this comfort, i slowly started getting more and more anxious, up all night touching the spot when it happened, until the point that i was in tears in the morning, and she took me to the doctor. the doctor said i had anxiety reaction to what happen, and ordered an MRI just to be safe. im still waiting on those results, but for the pass few days ive been very anxious, crying at times because ive been so scared for my life. at this point im unsure whether the sensation of burning is in my brain or on my scalp, but im leading more towards the on my scalp part, and ive been having headaches too, right around my left temple (the heat sensation started at the top of my head, but closer to the left). at this point the headaches are gone and so is the burning, but ive also felt tired. im hoping that this is all due to anxiety!