Medical Questions > Mental Health > Schizophrenia Forum

Voices in head - diagnosis ?

Must Read
Schizophrenia is a lifelong brain disorder. But how do doctors define it? And is there a cure?...
What causes schizophrenia? And what are the risks of developing this treatable mental illness?...
The first signs of schizophrenia may be difficult to identify. Learn the most common signs and symptoms of schizophrenia and know when to ask for medical help....
User Profile
Im a 18 year old student. I have had voices in my head for about 3 years. The one is like a friend, just trying to help me. The other one is a bit diffrent. He screams at me, giving me orders on how to live. If i do not listen to him he gets violent. He tels me to burn myself, that i do not have a future and that i deserve to die. He also hates other people and constantly tells me to kill.

I have had it under control till a few months ago. He told me to kill my family. I stood behind my father with a knife, ready to stab him, but I coulnt do it.

The week after that I was a mess. I had a few suicide attemts, but it all failed. He kept telling me that I cant even kill someone.

I am not diagnosed with anything. My mother is a pharmacist. She would on occation give me pills that I later found out is for schizophenia. I found out she also takes them.

When I was about 7 I had my fist suicide attempt. I dont understand why. I was not depressed and schizophrenia is very uncommon in young kids.

I have morbid thoughts. I laugh when I hear that someone's friend or parent died. I sometimes do it to the persons face. I do not know why.

I just want to know what exactly is wrong with me, before I hurt the one person I care about.

Please help.
Did you find this post helpful?
|

User Profile
replied June 13th, 2009
Experienced User