Medical Questions > Mental Health > Sleep Disorders Forum

Trouble without afternoon sleep

Hello . I'm a highschool student, studying hard for a national exam . I always have this problems : Falling sleep difficult , waking up difficult , some kind of Depression as the result of when I can't sleep afternoons so I'm not Refreshed therefore I can't Study. . It's my habit to sleep after lunch And If I don't, I can't study efficiently afternoons and Mostly make a lot of mistakes in Calculations of Subjects Like Math , Physics ,... .I got 8 hours a day mostly. Recently I asked a Neurobiologist about it and he prescribed this medicines : XANAX (Alparozlam) Wellbutriun (Zyban) and Modafinil . But still I have this problems.
Please Help me because this problem is interrupting me in whole aspects of my life .
Thanks .
(And sorry for probable English problems , I'm not Native !)
Did you find this post helpful?
First Helper Hypnos
|

replied August 15th, 2015
Active User, very eHealthy
Hi, first thought is those are some hard core drugs you're taking for sleep at such a young age. You might want a second opinion from another medical professional.

Second, why are you sleeping afternoons? For how long? Long daytime naps is one of the prime reasons why people can't sleep at night.

My suggestion would be to implement a disciplined sleep schedule ASAP. At your age you probably need somewhere around 9 or 10 hours a night. I would suggest setting a consistent wake time early in the morning, near sunrise if you can. Then keep that wake time the same 7 days a week, every day, as much as possible. Set your bedtime about 9 or 10 hours before that, depending on your needs.

Then minimize any afternoon napping to no more than about 15 minutes maximum. Even if you don't sleep but only relax during this time, you will feel noticeably refreshed.