Medical Questions > Relationships > Broken Hearted Forum

Can Heartbreak Causes Nausea ?

Hi

Well I'm going thru a very hard break up and basically, this is the first time I'm really in love with a gf (well ex-gf now) .... Is it normal that I get nausea? I do eat well, but I sometimes get insomnia at night... well, any way to get rid of the nausea... it occurs like 4-5 times a day, sometimes leads to vomitting =.="

thx
Did you find this post helpful?
|

User Profile
replied May 25th, 2007
Supporter
Broken Heart And Nausea
Bon soir, mon ami:

I'm no doctor but you're under terrific stress right now and stress manifests itself in different ways to different people. About five years ago I had what people used to call "a nervous breakdown"--I went through months and months of insomnia. Mine was due to stress at work, not the stress of a broken heart but stress is stress and the insomnia was my body's way of coping with the stress I had been under for several years.

When I broke up with my "first love" (good riddance, bucko!) I had a terrible time sleeping--it was either insomnia or I'd dream about him and that was just as bad because I'd wake up in the middle of the night very upset and unable to get back to sleep.

I also cut waaay back on my eating because just the sight of food made me nauseated.

Have you seen a doctor about this? It could be related to what you're going through or it could be something else that's manifesting itself.

Bonne chance.
|

replied May 25th, 2007
Extremely eHealthy
Re: Can Heartbreak Causes Nausea?
Skylude wrote:
Hi

Well I'm going thru a very hard break up and basically, this is the first time I'm really in love with a gf (well ex-gf now) .... Is it normal that I get nausea? I do eat well, but I sometimes get insomnia at night... well, any way to get rid of the nausea... it occurs like 4-5 times a day, sometimes leads to vomitting =.="

thx