Medical Questions > Conditions and Diseases > Nausea Forum

Severe nausea but can't vomit

Must Read
You've probably had a case of food poisoning at least one in your life...but what types of food poisoning exist? Basics on food poisoning here....
Not everyone will get sick from contaminated food. Learn who is more at risk of food poisoning, and what factors increase bacterial growth here....
How do you know if you've got a case of salmonella food poisoning versus e. coli? Learn the basic symptoms of food poisoning and when to seek help here....
hello, im a newb here but i have monitored many of the ehealth boards for years. so i decided to join up and ask a question.

So ive been having this problem recently where it seems like nothing can make me vomit, even when i fell like i really need to. I occasionally get bouts of severe nausea and in past years i would normally get physically sick then almost immediately feel better. but these days i just cant seem to vomit, even if i try and "help" myself out i just gag a little and get nowhere..

I also do not vomit if i were to drink too much, this is not a common thing, but has happened before. and in recent years if i were to get sick i would feel so much better, but i just cant seem to do it. no matter how sick i feel whether it be from an illness, drinking, or just a bout of nausea that hits me.

anyone had any thoughts on this? id really like to figure out wth is going on!
Did you find this post helpful?
|

replied February 24th, 2009
I have the same problem! Have you heard any explanations?
|

replied November 26th, 2011
Me too, i've never been sick as far as I remember, I feel sick and start to wretch but I can never get anything up. Would love to know if anyone has a solution
|

replied September 18th, 2012