Medical Questions > Conditions and Diseases > Dental Health Forum

Excessive Saliva In Mouth Whilst Sleeping

Must Read
Bad breath can often be the first sign of a disease. But how do doctors define bad breath and what are the major causes of bad breath?...
Did you know that bad breath can be associated with sinus problems? Learn more about the common (and unfamiliar) causes of bad breath here....
Did you know that symptoms of bad breath depend upon medical cause? More here on major causes and related symptoms of bad breath...plus when to seek help....
Help! I have a really embarassing problem, whilst I am sleeping a lot of saliva gathers in my mouth and runs down my mouth and onto my clothes and pillow case making a horrible mess of both.
Is it drooling,or does this condition have another medical terminology?
This condition has been affecting me a for long period of time,
any help to alleviate my condition will be gratefully appreciated.
Embarassed
Did you find this post helpful?
First Helper snc
|

User Profile
replied May 9th, 2007
Supporter
Hi
Just found your post, I can't believe no one has at least written to say HELLO..... I call this drooling as I have awaken on several occasions and found I "slept with my mouth open again" pillow soaked in one spot. I do know of several other people who have had this happen. As for if this is a medical condition, I can't help on that. Hope you find an answer! Laughing
|

replied June 2nd, 2007
Re: Excessive Saliva In Mouth Whilst Sleeping
Did it begin after a visit to a doctor or is it something new?
Usually every individual produces saliva all the time and by reflex will swallon unconsciosly. This is essential to the function of the oral mucous membrane. Your problem might be that u produce too much saliva due to a certain medication. In this case, u should see the doctor who was prescribing u the medication.
Maybe u should consult an ENT specilist to get ur saliva tested.