Join Our Community!
Pregnancy Forum > Pregnancy Community Chat Forum > *~*omg Guys You Gotta Read!!!*~*
Welcome to the eHealth Pregnancy Forum Community connecting patients, doctors, and people who like to help.
For more information about Pregnancy Community Chat, read the topics below or use our FREE Ask a Doctor service!
Ask a Doctor
Avatar
Q: *~*omg Guys You Gotta Read!!!*~*
asked by: Sandbox Party on January 28th, 2007
Especially EHEALTHy
I got a messed up email just now.

It was from what they wanted me to beleive was paypal.

It wasnt.

Here...
This is what it said...
*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*
dear paypal®member



you have recently updated your paypal® account according to our standard security procedures.

Unfortunately the update procedure failed because some of the information you provided was incorrect.

Please take 5-10 minutes out of your online experience and update your personal records.

However, failure to update your records will result in account suspension.



To update your paypal® records click on the following link:
http ://www.Paypal.Com/cgi-bin/webscr?Cmd=_logi n-run


thank you.
Paypal® service department

accounts management as outlined in our user agreement, paypal® will periodically send you information about site changes and enhancements.
*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*

now when I clicked on the link, it took me to what appeared tobe a log in page.. I typed in my email.. Some random password cuz i'd forgotten the one I used (i think I typed f*ckf*ckf*ck, minus the asterisks just cuz I knew I would never use that password lol..) and it took me to what looked like my paypal page (it even said *log out* at the top to make me think I was actually logged into my account) well, it asked me for all my stuff like cc information, moms maiden name, all that jazz.. Basically everything they'd need to jack my identity and money.

Well I went to paypal.Com directly, not clicking on a link, and typed in the same password just for fun and it wouldnt let me in, kept giving me error messages like it should have done.

So I know it was a fake site.

So if you guys have papal, and get an email like that from them... Dont fall for it.

Also, they will never send itto *paypal member* it will always always always say your name.

Ok. Just wanted to let you guys know. Smile
Did you find this post useful?
|
Quick Reply


Replies(17)
User Profile
arcadia replied on January 28th, 2007
Extremely EHEALTHy
Shocked .That's messed up, .Sandra!!! Its so scary what people can do with technology to screw people over.
Did you find this post useful?
|
Avatar
hopefulmjz replied on January 28th, 2007
Extremely EHEALTHy
Ugh! I've gotten those too .Sandra, I reported them! They make them pages seem so real! Glad you knew the difference and didn't give 'em all your info!!!!!!!!
Did you find this post useful?
|
User Profile
lil_blaze2004 replied on January 28th, 2007
Supporter
Thanks for the heads up. I try and never click on links for things that require personal info from emails.
Did you find this post useful?
|
Avatar
Eyes Wide Shut replied on January 28th, 2007
Especially EHEALTHy
And you know what's crazy? I *did* just update my paypal info.

But, I watched .Montel the other day, and he informed everyone on how to stay safe. Like never fall for e-mails that want your info.

Sarah
Did you find this post useful?
|
Avatar
Sunflower_pie81 replied on January 28th, 2007
Extremely EHEALTHy
How wierd is that? That is crazy!
Did you find this post useful?
|
User Profile
ladylee70 replied on January 28th, 2007
Extremely EHEALTHy
I showed this to my husband and he wanted me to give you this link:

http://www.Sonicwall. Com/phishing/

it is a phishing iq test - basically how to discern if an email is fake. I will take it and probably will get nothing correct.


Check it out.
Did you find this post useful?
|
User Profile
ladylee70 replied on January 28th, 2007
Extremely EHEALTHy
I got three wrong - I erred on the side of caution with a couple of them.
Did you find this post useful?
|
User Profile
tdr replied on January 28th, 2007
Supporter
I only got one wrong.
Here's a tip: if an email asks you to click on a link where you're supposed to enter information and it claims that the link is "secure," the url has to begin with https :// for it to be a legitimately secure url. This is what being the daughter of a .Microsoft employee teaches you, .I guess.
Did you find this post useful?
|
User Profile
ladylee70 replied on January 28th, 2007
Extremely EHEALTHy
Tdr: hey, do you live in wa state???
Did you find this post useful?
|
User Profile
tdr replied on January 28th, 2007
Supporter
ladylee70 wrote:
tdr: hey, do you live in wa state???


nope, sorry. Pennsylvania, actually. Pretty much the opposite end of the country. I have no idea what my dad actually does, but it involves frequent business trips out to washington state and then computer/tech stuff gets sent to the house for him to test and review all the time.
According to the .Windows .I.T .Pro site:
"david [last name] has been writing computer-related features and product reviews for more than 15 years and is coauthor of microsoft windows xp power toolkit (microsoft press)."
this is sad...He's been doing the same thing from even before .I was born and .I still have no idea what it acutally is.
Did you find this post useful?
|
User Profile
ladylee70 replied on January 28th, 2007
Extremely EHEALTHy
That's your dad, david?? That is pretty impressive.
Did you find this post useful?
|
User Profile
tinkinpink84 replied on January 29th, 2007
Supporter
I almost didnt read this but glad I did, we use paypal and we change it alot because sometimes we gotta ship stuf to nc or directly here etc, so our shipping and billing we change sometimes. Now I know not to click any links in my emails . Luckily I havent received that email well hubbys emails on our paypal so I gotta let him know . I forgot but thanks for letting us know!
Did you find this post useful?
|
User Profile
bel_bel replied on January 29th, 2007
Experienced User , Rather EHEALTHy
I got some similar mail saying .Update your credit card info from .Citibank
ha! Tats way too fake thou, althou they do make an effort for those .Logos & letterhead... But they pick the wrong girl ha!
Did you find this post useful?
|
Avatar
Sunflower_pie81 replied on January 29th, 2007
Extremely EHEALTHy
Ijust got one of those from my bank....Crazy.
Did you find this post useful?
|
User Profile
tdr replied on January 29th, 2007
Supporter
ladylee70 wrote:
that's your dad, david?? That is pretty impressive.


haha it comes in handy sometimes. I stayed after school last week to discuss my graudation project with my adviser, who also happens to be my .Spanish teacher. Her laptop was being all weird and she couldn't get it to work, so I called my dad and he talked us through how to make it work. That, and I can call him with computer problems all the time. I am technologically inept sometimes. I swear, I am not my father's daughter.
Did you find this post useful?
|
User Profile
michelle1981 replied on January 29th, 2007
Supporter
Thanks .Sandra Wink
Did you find this post useful?
|
Avatar
Sandbox Party replied on January 30th, 2007
Especially EHEALTHy
No problem-o, michie! I look out for mah gurlz.
Did you find this post useful?
|
 
Subject
Message
Jump to:  
Forums related to Pregnancy Community Chat