Medical Questions > Conditions and Diseases > Vascular and Circulatory Disorders Forum

Spider Veins???

My 14 yr old daughter has some nasty looking very visible spider veins on her upper thighs.. Is this something that should be looked at??
Did you find this post helpful?
|

replied August 21st, 2003
I'm not a doctor, but it seems a bit unusual for a fourteen yr old to have spider veins. Yes, I think it should be checked into.
|

replied August 21st, 2003
Experienced User
I've never heard of that in someone so young. You'd better check it out.
|

replied September 5th, 2003
Is it normal for a 21 year old to have them? Just recently popped up?
|

replied September 13th, 2003
Ugly Spider Veins
I have had those ugly little spider veins since I was a teenager! Usually in the shape of a starburst on my inner thigh by my knee, or on the outer side and back of my leg, they can really appear anywhere. They are hereditory usually but can get worse if you spend alot of time on your feet, because of pregnancy or weight gain and can even appear on your face from squeezing pimples or dehydration. (too much alcohol, not enough water!) there are a couple options, laser therepy, which works well, usually the first time, kindof expensive though, or sclerotherepy, thats when they inject saline solution into the little buggers, this is less money but it hurts a little too! I have had the sclero- and in one treatment it reduced my veins by about 50% in two or more treatments they should dimension. But they will eventually come back in other spots, oh well there are worse things!! Like varicose veins! They are even uglier and they hurt! Ether treatment you choose, be sure a schedule your appt. In the winter, because your legs will look a bit scary for a couple weeks/months! (brown spots where the treatment was) dont worry they fade!
Tbf- ps I am a horrible speller! Sorry
|

replied September 14th, 2005