Medical Questions > Conditions and Diseases > Lupus Forum

Newbie Here And Lost In the "is It Lupus Or Fibromyalgi

Must Read
Learn the basics about autoimmune disorders, including risk factors, diagnosis, and treatment options. ...
Learn about risk factors to developing an autoimmune disorder. ...
Learn about screening and diagnosis options available for autoimmune disorders....
Question

hi,

my story is kinda long so I will just get to current developments.

I was referred to a rheumatoidologist, and he told me my ana was neg. And he said that means I do not have lupus. You can have false negatives if not in a flare up, right?

So he did the pressure point test on me and told me I have fibromyalgia. He also did a test for my thyroid (no results yet). The confusing thing for me is he didn't even go over my long list of health problems that me and my husband brought to the appoinment.

Does anyone think he is going to take me serious? I most likely do have fibromyalgia but I have tons of other red flags pointing right at lupus.

Help me...Lena Confused
Did you find this post helpful?
|

replied January 11th, 2004
Active User, very eHealthy
First off, I know several people with pretty nasty lupus that have a negative ana...Fyi.

Second off, from what I am reading here, you do not have a good feeling about this doctor. Am I correct? If so, you have the right to get another doctor and/or another opinion.

I would also, personally, be very concerned if I took a doctor a list of ailments and the ailments were ignored.

It is your life and your situation, but a second opinion is never a bad idea, imo. However, do not go *expecting* a particular result...There are a lot of diseases out there that can mimic one another...

Sorry this is so short...I hope this helps,
ladybrannon Smile
|

replied January 11th, 2004
Thanks