Medical Questions > Conditions and Diseases > Heart Disease and Heart Attack Forum

Palpatations: Missed Beat 1 In 10 For 2 Months ... Any Ideas (Page 1)

Must Read
What happens during a heart attack? Get heart attack facts here....
What causes a heart attack? Are women more likely than men to have a heart attack? We review the risk factors and causes of heart attack here....
Can you identify early signs and symptoms of a heart attack? Are women heart attack symptoms different than men? Click here to learn when to seek help....
Hello there, im a newbie and have a question.

Im 32 years old and for about 2 months now I have been experiencing palpatations. They are constant, no matter what I am doing, and occur no matter what speed my pulse is. I have them when my pulse is at 73 and there have been several occasions when it runs at 120+ while resting. The happen about 1 in every 10-15 beats, my heart rythm generally is strong and regular and then it misses a beat and a stronger, thudding beat follows. Apart from the feeling in my chest, I have felt this numerous times in my pulse.

I finally plucked up the courage to visit my g.P. Who performed an ecg. Which showed up one missed heart beat although I had several during the 5 times the ecg was taken. She said that, generally, there did not look to be anything abnormal on the print-out.

My husband, however, listened to my heartbeat when we got home and I asked him to tap on my arm each time he felt there was an irregularity. He got it each time and heard about 7 in a minute or so.

Im being referred to the cardiology unit and having bloods taken on thursday.

Has anyone experienced this before or do you have any idea what on earth is going on? Believe me, nothing could be worse than what im thinking right now - im literally expecting to drop dead any any minute - im pretty scared right now.

Thank you

patricia
x
Did you find this post helpful?
First Helper PaceFL
|

replied January 11th, 2004
Jumpy Heart