Medical Questions > Womens Health > Birth Control Forum

Nuvaring And Skipping Periods

Must Read
Birth control is helpful in preventing pregnancy. Need to know more about birth control? Start here to learn more about popular methods of birth control....
You have many birth control options. Each works differently. What are the choices and what should you consider in order to help you make your decision? ...
Each method of birth control comes with risks to your health. What are the general problems you could encounter?...
I am new to nuvaring and am going on my third month, and so far I love it. I am in a long-distance relationship and I have always planned my periods with birth control pills around the times that we will be together (we see each other about every 3 months). Now that i'm on nuvaring, I am a little worried about what to do.
The next time I see my fiance, I am going to have my period almost the entire visit. I would like to delay my period one week, not have it the week before (because if I have it the week before, my period will still be going when I go see him).
Is it safe to take my nuvaring out after the three weeks, and then go two weeks before inserting a new one? I will not be having sex for two months after I do this, so do you think it's ok?
The only other solution is to skip my period for two months, can I do that on nuvaring by inserting a new ring after the third week?
Did you find this post helpful?
|

replied January 16th, 2006
Extremely eHealthy
Skipping period is easily done with nuva ring. It is actually good for 4 whole weeks, not just three, so you could just skip a period with nuva ring. But remember no matter which way you skip a period there can still be faint spotting and bleeding.It is best to seek advice of a doc about skipping.
|

replied January 17th, 2006
Experienced User
Well, the thing is, I don't really want to skip a period. Let me explain in more detail.