Medical Questions > Relationships > Dating Forum

Too Committed Too Young?

is it mandatory that you date around before committing to one person?
yes
no
7%  7%  [ 1 ]
92%  92%  [ 12 ]
Total Votes : 13
My boyfriend and I are very happy together. We're 19, been together 3 years, and we know we want to be married after we graduate from college. My parents like him, but want me to date other people. They think I need the experience to truly know what I want. They think i'm too young to be so committed to one person, and that I need to be single for a while, going on dates with other guys.

My boyfriend and I know that we run the risk of not developing our own identities since we got together so young. That's why I embrace things like him deciding to transfer to another college 6 hours away, so he can go to a better school for his major and gain more independence, his first apartment, his own identity... And it's why he's happy for me that i'm studying abroad in europe next semester, completely on my own, to experience life over there and develop my own identity... We know we run the risk of growing apart but the chance is worth taking... Because we'd be so much better for each other in the end having done these things.