Medical Questions > Conditions and Diseases > Stomach, Ulcers, Gastric Bypass Forum

Golf Ball Size Lump Under Left Rib 2 Inches Below Sternum

Must Read
Abdominal pain and bellyaches are common. Though most cases of abdominal pain aren't serious, sometimes you will need to see a doctor. We’ll review some of...
Abdominal pain can be uncomfortable but is very common. But when is pain in the abdomen serious? Learn how to describe your symptoms more accurately so that yo...
It's important to "know your pain" to help your doctor diagnose the reason behind abdominal pain. Read on for more tools and information about how to diagnose ...
This morning I was streatching and felt a lump protruding from the left side of my rib cage. I have been noticing pressure and cramping on my left side for the last 2 months with lower back pain on the same side.

The lump has a dull ache, but no sharp pains. When I pushed on it didn't make it worse.

I'm 40 yrs old, female and have 4 kids and have been under a lot of stress lately.

I don't have insurance. Any ideas on what this could be? What kind of doctor should I see?

Please help, i'm a bit scared.
Did you find this post helpful?
First Helper lynx123123
|

replied December 1st, 2005
Experienced User
Does the lump increase or decrease in size on a day to day basis? Is it just below your left rib cage? That is where your spleen and upper gastrointestinal area is? I've had an aching dull pain there for several years now and once, I thought I felt a lump or a swelling. Since it has been so long, I attribute it to trapped air or gas. However, if you have a significent swelling, I would get some type of scan done. You may have hypersplenism (swolen spleen). Good luck
|

replied May 25th, 2008
That has to be checked up, because it might be serious, i have no idea on what doctor you will see but i am hoping and praying for you, dont you worry, God is good all the time....He will never let us down....
|

User Profile
replied August 2nd, 2009