Medical Questions > Conditions and Diseases > Allergies Forum

Weird Reaction to Deodorant? (Page 1)

Must Read
What causes allergies? We review risk factors and common allergens in this intro to allergies section....
What causes an allergy? Who is more likely to develop allergies? More here....
Which allergy symptoms are serious signs of allergic reaction and which are merely bothersome? Common types of allergy symptoms and allergic reactions here....
Hello....I ahve a question for anyone out there. I have itchy armpits and I don't know what's causing it, any ideas? I have tried switching deodorant brands even though I have been using the same on for like 2 years! There are no bumps or rash. I am allergic to sulfates like in bodywashes and shampoos, am I missing something?
I f you have any ideas thanks!

Jadestone
Did you find this post helpful?
First Helper armpithell
|

replied November 21st, 2005
Itchy Armpits
I have the same problem! I have always used secret deoderant and have not tried to switch yet. What is your age? I am 35 year old female. It drives me nuts and have never had this happen until last 4 or 5 months.
|

replied November 23rd, 2005
I am 26 and I was using degree for a long time, now i've switched to secret since the itch but it hasn't gone away?! Maybe we are just becoming more sensitive to perfumes and chemicals?
|

replied November 23rd, 2005
Well I have looked some things up and found that it could be a kind of fungus or yeast infection (candida) I am not sure of spelling. Its common with women and possibly something that does not go away on its own. Natural remedies (which I prefer) is vaseline believe it or not. Others too, but can't recall the names. I also found that the expensive creams applied twice daily are supposed to do the trick. This would be the same cream that is used for athlete foot. Yuck! Never had that before so not sure what to buy! I think i'll try vaseline first. I'll let you know how it turns out!
|