Medical Questions > Pregnancy Forum > Pregnancy Forum

Coughing In Early Pregnancy

Must Read
Do you know the three main reasons we cough? Learn common causes of cough and when coughing might indicate a more serious health problem....
Coughing is normal. But what can cause more troublesome coughs? Learn more about possible causes of cough here....
When should you see a doctor about cough symptoms? When are symptoms a sign of further complications? Learn about cough symptoms basics here....
Hi,
this site has been a comfort to me and it's my first time actually asking a question. I am 8weeks pregnant and due for an ultrasound next week. Four days ago I developed a bad chest cold that keeps me up all night coughing. At times I feel i'll cough up a lung! Also, since I developed the cold, my nausea, which had been present the whole time previously, slowly disappeared. I'm so scared that something may have happened to the baby and that all the coughing may have had an impact. Can anyone offer any advice on loss of symptoms at this early stage and also heavy coughing? It would be much appreciated. Thanks:)
-beccak
Did you find this post helpful?
First Helper beccak
|

replied December 10th, 2003
Extremely eHealthy
Well have you called your doctors offive and ask them? Before you wait for your appointment call and ask. I dont think there should be in harm in the coughing but you never know. Good luck and congrats.
|

replied December 12th, 2003
Thanks Nikki
Thanks nikki,
just wanted to let you know that I went to the doctor and had an ultrasound cause I was so worried. I saw the cutie moving around in there and saw the heart beat too. The doctor said everything was great and that the coughing won't hurt the baby. Unfortunately no medicine is truly safe to use so I just have to wait this one out. Thanks again for your response.
-beccak
|

replied December 12th, 2003
Extremely eHealthy