Medical Questions > Mental Health > Depression Forum

Depressed-please Please Help Me

Must Read
Do you know how doctors define clinical depression? Learn more about this brain disorder and types of depression that doctors diagnose here....
Can depression run in families? Can hormones really make you depressed? Yes! Learn more about causes and conditions of clinical depression here....
People with depressive illnesses do not all experience the same symptoms. Do you know the signs and symptoms of depression? Read on to learn more....
Hi, I have been suffering from depression for a really long time. It's gotten so bad that I cannot go a single day without crying, or breaking into tears every couple of hours. I am a graduate student and life is very stressful. I think being in grad school has made my depression worse. My boyfriend just broke up with me too. Please help me. I don't know what to do anymore. I feel so exhausted and I don't sleep well. Help please.
Did you find this post helpful?
First Helper travelnurse05
|

replied May 4th, 2005
Experienced User
Hi :)
Hi nancy, how are you doing today? I hope you're doing ok. As you have learned the hard way ( and I am too) that depression can take over your life and eat away at you until you feel like nothing and want to hide forver from the terrible world.
You may be totally opposed to seeing a shrink but unfortunately you sound like maybe medication could help. Congrartulations on being in grad school but why has it made it worse? This might be a part of the sol'n.
I'm so sorry to hear about your bf breaking up w/ you. This must be devastating but hey you will still go on and on.
Maybe write in a diary to get all the bad feelings out. Talking reallyhelps- counselor, teacher, friend, parents....
Think about how your life could be better, smile, relax, reflect, and always keep your chin up.