Medical Questions > Conditions and Diseases > Lupus Forum

Lupus And Birth Control?

Must Read
Birth control is helpful in preventing pregnancy. Need to know more about birth control? Start here to learn more about popular methods of birth control....
You have many birth control options. Each works differently. What are the choices and what should you consider in order to help you make your decision? ...
Each method of birth control comes with risks to your health. What are the general problems you could encounter?...
I am new to this sight and hoping that someone can help me. I was diagnosed with lupus in march 2002. So I guess it has been about 3 years now. I had a severe flare in the beginning, thats how I found out. At the time I was on birth control. My first doctor told me to get off. I stop taking them, and started taking plaquenil. About 1 year ago, I stop taking the plaquenil also. I have not had a flare up in almost 2 years.

I would like to try birth control pills again. My new doctor said that for most lupus patients, a low dose bc pill works fine. It may even help reduce flare ups. A year ago I tried for 3 days, and started to get joint pain so I stopped. But the blood tests I took just before this was spiked. So I don't know if I tried the pill just when I was getting a fare up or if it caused a flare up.

Has anyone had any experience with bc and lupus?
Did you find this post helpful?
|

replied March 29th, 2005
Lupus And Birth Control?