Medical Questions > Mental Health > Bipolar Disorder Forum

Husbands Ex-wife Is Bipolar

Must Read
Do you know what bipolar is exactly? And what types of bipolar do doctors classify and diagnose? Learn more basics about bipolar disorder here....
Can stress put you at risk of developing bipolar disorder? Read here for information on risk factors which increase the likelihood that someone becomes bipolar....
Bipolar is difficult to diagnose as an illness ... but bipolar symptoms are usually accompanied by extreme changes. What are the symptoms of bipolar disorder?...
This is my first time, but I really need some advice. I'll try to keep it short, but my husband and I have been having problems with his ex-wife for 2 years ( the total time we have been together). My husband took his ex-wife to court to get joint custody of their three children ( 13, 12, and 10) in june 03. They've been in a court battle ever since. She "manics" quite frequently, is a heavy drinker, and uses marijuana, methamphetamines, and cocaine. She is constantly on and off her meds (lithium). She hates me and my husband ( although she still has never met me). She's constantly pitting the children against their father and me. The courts are some help, but it's slow going. The children are so confused by all this and are actually the ones suffering. It's impossible to convince her that she is doing anything wrong and she is constantly using the bipolar disorder as an excuse for he behavior. Any advise? We just want a stable, adjusted family. How do we deal with the children, the exwife and the courts ( she's very good at putting on a different face in court and the 13 year old daughter is completely convinced that mom never does anything wrong)? Please help. Thank you
Did you find this post helpful?
First Helper purple333
|

replied December 2nd, 2004
Extremely eHealthy