Medical Questions > Conditions and Diseases > Epilepsy Forum

My Younger Sister Has Epilepsy

Must Read
Click here to learn more about what causes epilepsy and the different types of epilepsy. Start here to learn about the basics of this type of brain disorder. ...
Get the facts on epilepsy types. Identify signs & symptoms of epilepsy. We outline different types of epileptic seizures so you know when to seek help....
How can you know if you're having an epileptic seizure? We outline how doctors clinically diagnose epilepsy and other seizures here....
My name is brian and I am a college student at avila university. My family just found out that my 14 year old sister has epy. I witnessed one of her seisures first hand it was one of the scariest things that I have ever seen in my life. I was hoping that some one could give me any information at all on what causes these attacks. She is a very healthy young girl other than this disease. The first time she ever had one the doctors said that she had a grand mall seisure what ever that means. Then she had two in one day and they diagnosed her with epilepsy. If anyone can give me any information at all it would and will be much appriciated.
Did you find this post helpful?
|

replied November 9th, 2003
Experienced User
I'm a Victim
Hello brian
it has something to do with the brain. The way I read it in my book is a group of neouns that tend to discharge excessively. There is a unbalnce in the brain. If you want more infor the book is called (epy a new approach) what meds can do; what you can do for yourself by richard & reiter, m.D.