Medical Questions > Mental Health > Anxiety and Stress Forum

My Heart Hurts...

Must Read
Learn how doctors clinically diagnose one of twelve kinds of anxiety disorders...and which doctors you should see for an anxiety diagnosis....
Anxiety disorders can affect anyone. But do you know the common signs and symptoms of anxiety disorders? Learn more now....
Anxiety is a normal, healthy emotion when experienced during specific moments. But do you know the signs that anxiety has gotten out of control? Read more here...
I have read some of these postings regarding anxiety and I haven't seen any that say you guys get heart pain from it. It feels like its kind of aching/ burning. It's weird... The only times I get it is when i'm studying at home or just hanging out at my house. Does this mean the anxiety is coming from my house and that my own house is causing me stress? Could it just be the people i'm around?? Is this normal?? How do I get my heart to stop hurting?!? Sorry... Lots of questions...

Kel Rolling Eyes
Did you find this post helpful?
First Helper vsokolov
|

replied September 13th, 2004
Thank u :p
|

replied September 14th, 2004
I think I have had the kind of pain you describe, and this is not an unusual symptom in men with anxiety, as far as I understand it. When I get really anxious, and in the past, I would feel a sort of burning across my chest, or sometimes an ache on one side of my chest or the other fairly near my heart. Freaked me out for a long time, but now I know it is muscle tension. Also sometimes is caused by the upset stomach caused by anxiety -- too much stomach acid can lead to heartburn, which is a similar feeling to what you describe.