Medical Questions > Mental Health > Depression Forum

Seeking Help: Zoloft And Tinnitus (ringing In the Ears) (Page 1)

Must Read
Do you know how doctors define clinical depression? Learn more about this brain disorder and types of depression that doctors diagnose here....
Can depression run in families? Can hormones really make you depressed? Yes! Learn more about causes and conditions of clinical depression here....
People with depressive illnesses do not all experience the same symptoms. Do you know the signs and symptoms of depression? Read on to learn more....
I’m seeking information specifically about tinnitus (ringing in the ears) as a side effect of zoloft. The info i’ve already seen on the internet does not completely answer all my questions.

I’m new to zoloft, I have tinnitus (ringing in the ears) as a side effect, and i’m seeking information and reassurance from doctors who know about tinnitus associated with zoloft or patients who had zoloft tinnitus experiences.

I’ve only been taking zoloft for six (6) weeks. The first week was 25 mg per day, and all other weeks have been 50 mg per day.

During the fifth week, I developed tinnitus. I’m hoping that it’s a temporary side effect that will go away as I continue to take zoloft. I’m trying to find people who experienced tinnitus while taking zoloft, but continued zoloft anyway and then the tinnitus went away. I would also want to know about anyone whose tinnitus side effect did not go away, and whether they stayed on zoloft anyway with the accompanying tinnitus, or stopped taking zoloft. I’m hoping that nobody has experienced permanent tinnitus as a result of zoloft, but I guess I should know about that, too.