Medical Questions > Conditions and Diseases > Ear, Nose and Throat Disorders Forum

coughing up white phlegm (Page 1)

Must Read
Do you know the three main reasons we cough? Learn common causes of cough and when coughing might indicate a more serious health problem....
Coughing is normal. But what can cause more troublesome coughs? Learn more about possible causes of cough here....
When should you see a doctor about cough symptoms? When are symptoms a sign of further complications? Learn about cough symptoms basics here....
I have been coughing a lot for the past 2 months and when I cough, I cough up some thick white phelm that looks sort of like mozarella cheese (not to sound disgusting) but it bothers me to think that there might be something wrong with me! At times my chest hurts and when all i do is cough by the next day my whole front hurts! Any idea what this may be??
Did you find this post helpful?
First Helper WasMAover20yrs
|

User Profile
replied January 21st, 2008
Supporter
Have you gotten an x-ray taken? Generally the first step is to diagnose a condition. Then you can learn about its treatment. Might be bronchitis. Could be a respiratory infection. Maybe related to the lungs....but you'll never know until you visit a doctor. Can you do that?
|

Well I have an appointment on the 31st but I thought someone out there might have gone thru the same thing and can give me a heads up! I dont like hospital or doctors, they scare me and I didnt want to get bad news or anything like that. but yeah I am going the end of this months to my doctor!!!
|

User Profile
Supporter
Could be an asthmatic condition but more likely an infection. Have you not had any antibiotics? Do you feel generally ill?

Don't worry about the x-ray - it is the simplest thing and they will be unlikely to give you any results - good or bad - on the day. Just get the thing done as a lingering chest infection can become more serious than it need.
|

replied January 23rd, 2008