Medical Questions > Conditions and Diseases > Back Pain Forum

How long is recovery after L4L5 fusion?

Must Read
What structures make up the spine? We review basic spine anatomy here...before identifying potential causes of back pain....
Click here to learn about the most common causes of back pain, and things that increase your risk of backache. We cover lower back pain and upper back pain....
Back pain symptoms may seem obvious. But do you know when symptoms of back pain are more serious or when to see a doctor? Learn what action to take & when...
I am scheduled for L4L5 fusion next mth. I am 39 and in decent shap with this dang back bring one of my only health problems.

Is it a realistic expectation to be back walking at work (I am a manager and do little if any lifting, mostly walking) within 5 weeks.
Did you find this post helpful?
First Helper arbrad1980
|

replied December 4th, 2007
Hi
well everyone is different i had my operation in april and im still in lots of pain and haveing problems i had l4/5 discetomy and decompression i was that bad before i had the operation that i had lost controll of my bladder and bowls i went into hospital on easter sunday within 1 hour i was haveing m.r.i scan and was taken to theater after that i now go to phsiyo 2 times aweek and hydro pool once a week and after speaking with my surgeon last monday im now waiting to attend a pain clinic she said doing another operation would not do me any good so i can only tell you whats happened to me but everyone is different jinny
|

replied September 17th, 2009
How long is the average healing time?