Medical Questions > Mental Health > Bipolar Disorder Forum

Husband in hospital for bipolar -did I make the right choice

Must Read
Do you know what bipolar is exactly? And what types of bipolar do doctors classify and diagnose? Learn more basics about bipolar disorder here....
Can stress put you at risk of developing bipolar disorder? Read here for information on risk factors which increase the likelihood that someone becomes bipolar....
Bipolar is difficult to diagnose as an illness ... but bipolar symptoms are usually accompanied by extreme changes. What are the symptoms of bipolar disorder?...
i have never done anything like this before. my husband has just been put into hospital and i have never been so torn apart. we have been together for 3 years and have been through a lot (including losing my sister to bipolar last year) and i was well aware of his illness, it is one thing that brought us together, i have quite bad depression. until monday i never saw him go high. now, after having to make the descision to have him in hospital and seeing him for the1st time, i am so confused. he is so angry, so manipulative, and believes that he is perfectly ok, that i am having him kept there, like i have a say at this point. he is threatening to leave me or break out if he does not get released in the next 2 days. i am so scared. he is everything to me, but now, even though his voice is the same, he is a completely different person, even had his head shaved to a mohawk. he is so smart and knows how to twist the situation, so now i am left feeling unsure as to whether or not i made the right choice. my mind says yes, but my heart is in half. i am so scared that he will never forgive me, and that he will leave me, and he is everything to me. please someone let me know i am not alone. i need to know that this happens to others, or if it does not, then i guess i made the wrong choice. i am so confused and so hurt.
please help
Did you find this post helpful?