Medical Questions > Mental Health > Depression Forum

I Don't Think I'm Going to Make It This Time

Must Read
Do you know how doctors define clinical depression? Learn more about this brain disorder and types of depression that doctors diagnose here....
Can depression run in families? Can hormones really make you depressed? Yes! Learn more about causes and conditions of clinical depression here....
People with depressive illnesses do not all experience the same symptoms. Do you know the signs and symptoms of depression? Read on to learn more....
I am a 38 year old nursing student who is also a single mother. I have a college degree and recently sold my home to return to college.

I haven't dated anyone since my daughter was born 3 years ago, and I recently ran into someone I dated briefly, he asked me out and I accepted.

We had all of 3 dates, and out of the blue he said, "I'm not expecting anything from you and I hope you aren't expecting anything out of me."

I wasn't wanting this guy as a boyfriend, but I keep meeting guys like him...all they want to do is spend time with me until they can move onto something better, and they ALWAYS find something better.

I have had two other guys ask me out in three years, and both pretty much bolted as soon as they found out I had a child.

I just don't know if I can face being alone for the rest of my life and the older I get the more of a certainty that is starting to look like. Every guy I go out with dumps me...every single one of them. They always leave me for someone else.

I just don't know how I can take much more of this, and I can't be a good mother to my child if I'm upseet all the time. I don't have any friends, because they are all married, and never want to spend time with me, but they find tons of time to spend with their other married friends. Half the time they don't want to return my calls or emails.