Medical Questions > Conditions and Diseases > Vascular and Circulatory Disorders Forum

Large Hematoma After Giving Blood.

I have a large bruise\hematoma on the inside of my left forearm which appeared immediately after a blood test this morning. It is situated directly over the large blue vein that runs the length of my arm from wrist to elbow and is about four inches long and one inch wide. The area is much more painful and sore than I've ever experienced from a blood test in the past and while the hematoma does not appear to have increased in size in the last few hours it is still swollen and the area in the centre has lost its bluish "veiny" colour and is turning red. Again, the area is blue, not brown as in the case of normal bruises, and the swollen area is slightly harder than the surrounding area.

Some context: I am an English teacher living in China and I was required to submit to a health examination, including a blood test, this morning. Initially the doctor was unable to find a vein (this has happened everytime I've had blood taken) and I was passed off to another doctor, who decided to take from the large central vein in my arm instead.

I'm wondering if this is something I should be concerned about, or if I should just continue to ice and elevate it and let it resolve itself on its own. The fact of the matter is that I'm hesitant to go to a Chinese hospital to have it looked at for a variety of reasons including the cost and the language barrier. If it's something I can reasonably expect will just fix itself, I'll breathe a little easier.
Did you find this post helpful?
First Helper quixote23
|

replied October 8th, 2009
swelling after blood test