Medical Questions > Conditions and Diseases > Foot Disorders Forum

My Feet And Ankles Always Hurt (questions About Surgery)

Must Read
We answer the questions: What is a wart? How do warts spread? What types of warts can you get? More basic facts on warts and plantar warts here....
What causes warts and in particular, plantar warts? And are adults or children more at risk of getting them. More on risks and causes here....
Do you know how to spot a wart? Learn the signs and symptoms of warts located on the feet, plus when you should seek medical help for a plantar wart....
Hello. I'm 19 years old and I have a problem with my feet. I've always known that I had flat feet, and I didn't think it was really a problem. When I was real young I had an orthopedic insert that I used to use (this was probably 14-15 years ago). I didn't wear it for long, and I haven't been to a foot doctor until very recently.

I started playing Ultimate a lot last September when I got to college. I joined the team and started running a lot and playing for 7-10 hours a week. Since then my feet and ankles have hurt a lot. I figured it was normal because I was so used to it. After things started getting real bad I knew it had to do with my flat feet. I never had time to get to the foot doctor since I was real busy at school, but I decided to buy ankle braces instead. They helped me out a bit, but I was still in a lot of pain.

So I finally got to the foot doctor about a week ago. He laughed at my feet and said they were in terrible condition. I got an x-ray taken and they also put me on some type of scanner to see where I put pressure on my feet. When my heels are straight, my feet curve outward because the bones are shaped wrong. My doctor said that orthopedic inserts would barely help me, if anything at all. In my very brief visit, he mentioned surgery once saying only this: "surgery is an option".